NORTHEASTERN EDUCATIONAL TELEVISION OF OHIO, INC.

NETO 1750 W. Campus Center Dr. Kent, Ohio 44240-3820 330.677.4549

Trina J. Cutter President & Chief Executive Officer PBS Western Reserve

Stephen Colecchi Chief Executive Officer Hattie Larlham

Romona J. Davis Vice President—Senior SBA Business Development Officer The Huntington National Bank

Todd Diacon President, Kent State University

David Dix Community Volunteer

Wayne R. Hill Vice President and Chief of Staff The University of Akron

Gary L. Miller President The University of Akron

Joyce L. Mistovich Director of Education The Butler Institute of American Art

Nicole Mullet Executive Director ArtsNow

Bruce E. Sherman Sherman Creative Promotions, Inc.

Shannon Tirone Associate Vice President for University Relations Youngstown State University

James P. Tressel President Youngstown State University

Stephanie Werren Director Leadership Stark County

Facts About the Governance Change for Northeastern Educational Television of Ohio, Inc. (D.B.A. PBS Western Reserve)

- PBS Western Reserve is made up of two public television stations— WNEO and WEAO—operating under one nonprofit 501(c)(3) corporation, Northeastern Educational Television of Ohio, Inc. (NETO).
- Since its formation in 1971, NETO has been owned and operated by a consortium of The University of Akron, Kent State University and Youngstown State University.
- The consortium provides no financial or in-kind support to NETO.
- NETO has the same governance structure as other noncommercial public television stations in the country with one major exception—the consortium universities appoint members to serve on NETO's board of directors.
- NETO's current board of directors has 15 members. The three university presidents serve as ex officio members, and each appoints four more members. The president and CEO of PBS Western Reserve is a nonvoting, ex officio member of the board.
- On October 12, 2021, the three university presidents notified NETO's board chair that they wish to voluntarily terminate the universities' consortium membership with NETO. This change will take effect June 30, 2023.
- With this new governance structure, NETO's directors will be elected by the board.
- Currently two-thirds of NETO's board members are volunteers from the community and so the transition to 100% community members should be uncomplicated.
- The changeover will require, among other things, filing for FCC approval of transfer of control applications for all of NETO's spectrum licenses, which includes WNEO, WEAO, a Youngstown translator, two educational broadcast spectrum licenses and an earth station license.